top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophie Moores

Lockdown Home Workouts- Yey or Nay?

So, it’s now week 12 of lockdown due to Covid-19 and I’m well into my home workouts, but are home workouts for everyone? Are they the way to go?


Personally, I have actually loved working out at home. I’ve become way more creative with my workouts, as apposed to being rushed for time squeezing in a workout each day around work. Now I have the time to do a lengthy workout and stretch in the comfort of my own home, conveniently saving time and money! I have incorporated different types of exercise into my days such as a cycle or a long walk more often, as well as challenging myself to workouts I would not often do such as HIIT or Boxing.


It has been a chance for me to get more outdoor exercise each day which has definitely benefited my mental well-being. I have realised how important it is to have time outside to get some fresh air, a change of scenery and time away from technology to see the outdoors. We are so cooped up on our phones, laptops, tablets constantly working or watching or scrolling nowadays- get some time away from that and go for a run or a walk.


BUT don’t get me wrong I definitely miss the gym. I am an individual who works harder when I am in the right environment, surrounded by people who are working hard as this inspires and drives me to push myself even harder. This is why I have been loving online classes during lockdown; even though I am not in the studio with the rest of the class it feels like more of a community knowing it’s not only me and we are all still working together!

Not having gym equipment at home is tricky for a lot of people including myself and I do miss the weights. But you have to work with what you’ve got- I’ve been using a rucksack filled with tins, small weights, water and wine bottles and a makeshift resistance band- get creative; there is always something to use! With having this restriction, I have focused more on body weight exercises with workouts inspired by Pilates which has defiantly changed my body’s physical appearance creating longer, leaner muscles and I feel strong.


Lockdown has defiantly been a time where we have all had to adapt and shift, and myself, along with a lot of people, have struggled. You have to make the best of a bad situation, and carry on. I’ve found comfort in having something to focus on which I enjoy which has been my workouts as well as creating my Dance, Fitness and Well-being page. Creating workouts and delivering classes has kept me focused and working on something during a time when I felt a little lost.


It’s been an unexpected happening that has developed my practice and work for the better and broader. I will be returning to the gym eventually but during this time I have learnt much more about my body and practice. I will develop a broader regime incorporating the gym, outdoor exercise, Pilates and Barre Fit, Dance and HIIT Cardio and Strength and Conditioning to all round sustain a happy and healthy physical and mental well-being.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page